X Close
Online Enquiry
Name *
Phone *
Email *
* Required fields

Contact Us


(03) 9435 5971


Brett Money - Mobile







Well done to all our award winners on Saturday night where around 100 people joined us for our 2018/19 Presentation Night. Thanks to our MC David Hyland and to Brett Money and John Miles who organised the evening.



Jim Fitzpatrick medal - Andrew Villani

Skipper Andy Villani was rewarded for his magnificent season in A Grade, winning the Jim Fitzpatrick Trophy for best player in A Grade as voted by the umpires. Andy won with 29 votes from Chris Salm on 22 votes and Nathan Chrimes on 15 votes. Well done to Andy on a magnificent season and we wish him & Katie all the best as they prepare for the imminent arrival of their first child.


Jim Fitzpatrick Medal Leader Board:
29 A.Villani
22 C.Salm
15 N.Chrimes
12 T.Knox
12 S.Gibbs
11 S.Money
10 L.Morgan
8 E.Smale
5 N.Austin
5 D.Rowley

3 X.Youngman



Matt Newell was awarded the President’s Trophy where points are awarded for runs, wickets and dismissals. Matt scored 421 runs, took 14 wickets and took 9 catches to win the award with 125 points from Brett Money on 107 points and Harsh Dhillon on 100 points. Well done Newelly.




The Ben Brodie Memorial Award for the best under 21 player as voted by the committee was awarded to Dempsey Mills who had a great season with both bat and ball which resulted in him also making his A-Grade debut. Well done Dempsey.




Bernie and Carmen Phelan were on hand to award the Greg Phelan Memorial Award to the most improved senior cricketer in honour of their son. David Rowley was voted the most improved player, having risen through the ranks to eventually make his A-Grade debut late in the season. Congratulations David.



DAVID HYLAND AWARD (BEST CLUBMAN) – David Hoobin & Paul Sinclair

David Hoobin & Paul Sinclair were awarded the David Hyland Award as Clubmen of the Year. Well done to David and Paul who do a lot of hard work off the field for the club and were recognised with this award for all their efforts. Well done to Hoobs & Sincas.



COACHES AWARD – Joel Ramsay & Harry Ellks

Joel Ramsay and Harry Ellks were recognised for their fantastic application in games and at training in jointly being awarded the Coaches Award for the season from coach Luke Rosbrook. Well done Rambo and Harry.


LIFE MEMBERS – Rob Hoyne, Scott Gibbs, Matthew Newell & Liam Money

We voted in four new Life Members on the evening;

Robert Hoyne was nominated by Geoff Money. Rob’s contribution over 40 years of involvement at Riverside was recognised, where he has played a lot of different roles in that time. The Hoyne family has been a long standing one at the club and Rob is a very popular clubman at Riverside. Well done Rob.



Scott Gibbs was nominated by good friend and fellow club champion Elliot Smale for his time at Riverside over the past 17 years. Scott has not only been a fantastic player for Riverside but also a great club person, coach and captain in his time at the club and is a deserving recipient of life membership of the club. Congratulations Scott.



Matthew Newell was recognised for his 30 plus years of service to the club both on and off the field in being nominated by John Miles. A current committee member and captain of our 5th XI, the Newell name is another which has been synonymous with Riverside almost since the beginning. Well done Matt on your Life Membership.



Liam Money was nominated jointly by Martyn Anderson and Tom Money for his service to the club in a number of areas as a player, president, committee man and major sponsor over the past 30 years. Liam is the latest member of the Money family to receive Life Membership (joining his grandparents Ray & Peg, father and uncles) and continues the legacy of his family who has been involved with Riverside for over 60 years. Congratulations Liam.


20 Years Treasurer - Martyn Anderson

Martyn Anderson was recognised for his 20 years as treasurer of the club which is the longest standing office bearer in the history of Riverside. Congratulations and well done Martyn.



Our Team of the Year was awarded for season 2018/19;


1. Brett Money (VC) 482 Runs @ 43.82 
2. Nicholas Ellks 400 Runs @ 33.33 
3. Sam Edward 393 Runs @ 65.50 
4. Matthew Newell 421 Runs @ 46.78 & 14 Wickets @ 16.21
5. Matthew Doyle 309 Runs @ 38.63 & 9 Wickets @ 14.89
6. Christopher Salm 175 Runs @ 19.44 & 17 Wickets @ 19.18
7. Elliot Smale (WK) 154 Runs @ 19.25 
8. Andrew Villani (C) 28 Wickets @ 13.43
9. Cameron Drake 189 Runs @ 23.63 & 24 Wickets @ 19.38
10. Harsh Dhillon 149 Runs @ 49.67 & 33 Wickets @ 9.48
11. David Rowley 27 Wickets @ 12.96
12. Tom Money 362 Runs @ 45.25 
Vets MVP Rick Bohan 180 Runs @ 90.00 & 7 Wickets @ 16.86




A Grade (1st XI)
Batting – Scott Gibbs 244 runs @ 30.5
Bowling – Andrew Villani 28 wickets @ 13.43


B Grade (2nd XI)
Batting – Sam Edward 220 runs @ 73.33
Bowling – David Rowley 23 wickets @ 12.57


D Grade (3rd XI)
Batting – Nick Ellks 321 runs @ 45.86

Bowling – Harsh Dhillon 20 wickets @ 8.55


E Grade (4th XI)
Batting – Tom Money 272 runs @ 34.00
Bowling – Josh Rae 14 wickets @ 23.43


F2 Grade (5th XI)
Batting – Matt Newell 332 runs @ 41.5
Bowling – Matt Newell 14 wickets @ 13.64


G2 Grade (6th XI)
Batting – Matt Hume 148 runs @ 16.44
Bowling – Miles Coates 13 wickets @ 16.85


Vets MVP
Paul Bohan 180 Runs @ 90, 7 Wickets @ 16.86, 4 Catches



Thanks to Philip Money and the Rosanna Golf Club for hosting us again at their magnificent facility and to everyone that attended on the night.

All the best to everyone in the off season and we hope to see you all there for season 2019/20.